There’s an email going round asking Facebook users to reset their password. The email states “Facebook Password Reset Confirmation” but this email is completely fake and contains a virus. So do not open or follow any of its instructions. Facebook is currently letting users know that the email is fake but they need help in spreading the word, so be sure to let your friends know!
The text of the email is as follows:
“Dear user of facebook,
Because of the measures taken to provide safety to our clients, your password has been changed. You can find your new password in the attached document.
Thanks,
Your Facebook.”
The message is spoofed and shows up as coming from “Facebook Support” at help@facebook.com, although that’s really not the source.
|
|
If you use a web based email client, you shouldn’t be too concerned with the viral part of this but if you download your email, it’s worth virus checking your computer to be safe. The attachment contains a password stealer that can potentially access any username and password combination used on the computer, not just the login credentials for Facebook. If you have downloaded the application you should install a virus scanner and also change your Facebook password immediately.
I have a facebook account but received this same email on my work email, which is essentially a totally different one and not even close to my facebook account. So that would lead me to think that they are just mass-emailing to see who will bite. It is always a best practice to always be wary of any email attachments, irrespective of the domain from which it appears to have been sent! I don’t care who it is from. If you are not expecting one. then alway scan it.
At any rate, isn’t that uber-annoying? I would hope that these wannabe hackers go find something better and more productive to do with their time. At the same time, I find it absolutely hilarious that people actually fall for these phishing attacks (LOL)!










Hackers are really smart. Great tip.
Hackers are as smart as we allow them to be
So is the CERN computer center installing grid services.
Thanks for the heads up!
.-= Swapnil´s last blogpost >> The BatCat! =-.
You’re welcome Swapnil!
Thanks for safe warning us..
.-= sudharsan @ technoskillonline´s last blogpost >> 7 Common Error Messages of Your Browser and their solutions =-.
It’s my duty, buddy!
Weird, that came across this blog post. I have been getting a ton of reports on these fake emails going out. The main thing is they never user your name; it is always something generic, like sir, dear, facebook user, ect.
.-= Garen @ Report Online Scams´s last blogpost >> Facebook Scams – On The Rise =-.
Yes, that should be first thing (use of a generic title, NOT your name) should be enough to alarm you. Good point, Garen!
Thanks for the info friend.
.-= Bimal Roy´s last blogpost >> Follow Your Twitter Followers Back With One Single Click =-.
I am fed up with these spammers. How can we read any mails without a treat ….. oh !
Pls also mention the domain of the mail so that we can easily identify if it is a spam or not.
Also read http://www.labofweb.com/2010/04/free-mcafee-antivirus-for-facebook.html
As they often obfuscate the domain of the mails and the mail ids from which they send such mails, it is often hard to spot. A good practice is to look out for suspicious mails and not to click on any suspicious links and not to download any such attachments.